Recommending a few of my favourite books for this year's International Literacy Day.

Today is International Literacy Day.

Set up by UNESCO and first celebrated in 1967, its purpose is to remind us all of the importance of literacy.

In a country were the literacy rate is 99% it’s easy to forget the power of reading, but being able to do so promotes economic empowerment; as individuals expand their knowledge and learn new skills and helps to development critical and creative thinking; allowing for the exchange of ideas and innovation.

In honour of today then, I thought I’d share a few of my favourite recent reads.

Invisible Women: Exposing Data Bias in a World Designed for Men by Caroline Criado-Perez

I genuinely believe this should be mandatory reading for all school children. Absolutely eye opening.

Read more

The Soul of a Woman: Rebel Girls, Impatient Love, and Long Life

I actually hadn’t heard of Isabel Allende when I read this book, but my word is she a woman you should know about. This is part memoir, part feminist manifesto and all inspiring.

Read more

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

And just because we need a little light entertainment too, although that’s probably not the best term to use for this psychological thriller.

The perfect page turner with an incredible twist at the end – for fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train.

Read more

Let me know in the comments if you’ve read anything great recently that I should add to my list!

More Living

Learn more about International Literacy Day